Lupita Rules the World in Dolce & Gabbana as She Covers ‘Dazed & Confused’ Feb 2014 Issue

BY EVE CHEGE

With countless magazine spreads and a spring campaign under her belt, Lupita Nyong’o is officially our favorite “fashion killa.” She continues the momentum with covering the new issue of Dazed & Confused magazine. And per usual, the starlet looks like perfection. Breakout 12 Years a Slave star Lupita Nyong’o, the face of Miu Miu’s SS14 campaign, fronts the “Girls Rule the World” issue in a shoot by Sharif Hamza, styled by Robbie Spencer. The striking Kenyan actress in New York discusses the making of Steve McQueen’s uncompromising film and how she aims to shatter stereotypes of women in Hollywood.

Lupita Nyong'o for "Dazed&Confused" Magazine Feb2014 Issue 1
Lupita Nyong’o for “Dazed&Confused” Magazine Feb2014 Issue 1

The 30-year-old actress looked divine & fabulous in a yellow vinyl frock by Dolce & Gabbana for the colour-blocked image shot by Sharif Hamza. I guess the sheer fact that Lupita is so beautiful and she carries herself with such a regal air, that’s what saved the shoot. Because the stylists were definitely tried playing on an avant-garde look.

Here are some of Lupita’s magazine interview highlights:

Her family, childhood: Lupita lived ‘a very middle-class life’ in the quiet suburbs and gated communities of Nairobi. ‘I loved make-believe,’ she says. ‘I was the child in the cupboard playing with my Barbies.’ When she was eight or nine she watched The Color Purple, the film adaptation of Alice Walker’s novel. ‘It was first time I’d seen someone like me on screen,’ Nyong’o says. ‘Whoopi Goldberg had my kind of hair and was dark like me. I thought, maybe I could do this for a living.’

She’s also a writer/director/producer: ‘I love filmmaking,’ she says, ‘but I decided to go to drama school because I thought that when I’m 60 and looking back on my life, if acting hadn’t been a part of it, I would hate myself.’

Getting hired for 12 YAS while she at Yale Drama: ‘I was very intimidated. Every day I thought the phone was going to ring and it was going to be Steve saying, “I’m sorry, I made a mistake.”’ And then she would remember the reaction of her father – solid, successful, suspicious of acting’s vagaries. ‘My parents had been very worried about what I was going to do.’ When she called him with the news that she was going to be in a film with Brad Pitt, his only comment was, ‘Oh, so you have a job!’ ‘That put things into perspective,’ she says. ‘It was a job, and the intimidation of doing it with all these people had to be put aside.’

Lupita also talks about preparing for the awful scene in her premiere breakout 12 Years a Slave whereby near the end of the film, Patsey is whipped. That scene is so awful, so damaging, I don’t think many people can or should watch the whole thing without averting their eyes. It was so bad, I had to ask CB (when we were watching the film together) if Epps had just killed Patsey. Just being reminded of it… makes me remember how much I want Lupita to win the Oscar.

The February issue of Dazed & Confused will be out on a worldwide release tomorrow Thursday 16th February. Which #girlsrule your world? Let us know

Photo Credits: dazeddigital

Photography: Sharif Hamza
Stylist: Robbie Spencer

For more information on Dazed & Confused Magazine, visit them at www.dazeddigital.com

 

Leave a Reply

